It is with a heavy heart that we have to announce the departure from Dropkick of founding member, Alastair Taylor. Alastair let us all know nearly a year ago that he wanted a break from being in a band and to gives his ears a rest! To those of you who follow what we do, you’ll know Alastair has written some great Dropkick songs and contributed an enormous amount to our sound over the years, particularly his vocal harmonies. We won’t miss that pink Stratocaster though!!

Here is what Al says:

Leaving Dropkick was probably the hardest decision I’ve ever had to make. I spent 20 years playing in the band (more than half my life!) so I am really going to miss it. There have been some great adventures along the way, our first proper tour of Scotland in 2006 being one of the highlights. Writing a Christmas song about my favourite seafood and managing to get it played on national radio several times is also right up there… To be able to finish my Dropkick career with an amazing tour of Spain really was like “living the dream” and that week will live in my memory forever. Knowing that my last ever Dropkick gig was in one of my favourite cities Palma, Mallorca is also special for me. I’ve met so many brilliant people along the way: musicians, promoters, DJs and fans, many of whom I’d now regard as friends. And to all the members of Dropkick, past and present (and especially my brother Andrew who’s had to put up with me for the longest), thank you for the memories and good luck for the future.

While we’re very sad at Alastair leaving, we’re delighted to announce the return of Roy Taylor to the band on guitar and vocals. Roy wrote, played and sang with Dropkick originally between 2006 and 2010, on the albums ‘Turning Circles’, ‘Dot the i’, ‘Patchwork’ and ‘Abelay Hotel’. We had a our first full band rehearsal last night and are really excited now about getting out to play some gigs with the new line up this year. More news soon.

Cheers and thanks for everything Al, hello again Roy and thanks to all of you for your continued support of all things Dropkick.

Andrew, Scott, Ian and Mike

New Album and Spanish Tour

A new Dropkick album ‘Good Vibes: The Dropkick Song Book Vol. 1’ will be released on 13th October 2014 on Rock Indiana Records of Spain. CDs will be available direct from Rock Indiana and you can pre-order the album in download format from Dropkick’s Bandcamp page. The album is made up of new recordings of 12 of Dropkick’s best known songs, originally released between 2001-2008. The full tracklisting is:

1. Breakdown
2. Only For Yourself
3. Obvious
4. Give It Back
5. Figure It Out
6. Good Vibes
7. Crisps And Irn Bru
8. Dog And Cat
9. Where I’m From
10. Open Door
11. Can’t Help It
12. When The Summer Comes Around

The band will also be touring Spain in October, including gigs in San Sebastian, Bilbao, Barcelona, Valencia, Madrid and Palma.

Homeward – new album released 18th April 2014

Dropkick’s new album Homeward is now available to order from the band’s Bandcamp page. Released on on 18th April 2014 on the band’s own label Taylored Records, the album is available in CD digipack, 180 gram vinyl and download formats, with an option to buy the CD and vinyl together for a special price of only £15 + postage. The album features new artwork from the acclaimed Scottish Artist, Alan Lennon (

The album received an excellent 4 star review in Maverick magazine where they describe it as having “an originality that defies explanation … Wilco meets the Shins in Scotland”.

You can watch the video of the track Halfway Round Again below. The album is also available on iTunesAmazon and many other places, including several record shops in Scotland. For a full list, click here. The track Halfway Round Again is also available to download for free from Bandcamp, where you can also listen to the whole album.